About Us

About Us

UCA Executive Committee at the Strategy Planning Day

Formed in 1966 the University Colleges Australia (UCA) has a rich history of working with Heads of residential University Colleges and Halls for the continuous improvement of collegiate life experiences. Currently, the Association represents more than 60 residential University Colleges and Halls throughout Australia.

Our Values

The UCA’s key objective is to promote the benefits of collegiate residences in Australian universities. Specifically to promote collegiate life as a means to developing a broader education, socially, culturally and morally.

The Association is responsible for fostering professional development and providing a unified voice on issues affecting members.

The UCA embodies values of collegiality and professionalism. Working as one collective body; the Association draws strength from their vast pool of experience, expertise and skills to empower members with the tools to provide a rewarding and safe environment for students.

Our Executive Committee

Rose Alwyn

UCA President

Ms Rose Alwyn,
Master, St Mark’s College, University of Adelaide, University of South Australia and Flinders University

Rose Alwyn has been with St Mark’s College for more than 15 years as Master and Dean. She has a true understanding of issues facing residential colleges.  Rose has made a valuable contribution to University Colleges Australia in her role as Conference Convenor for 2014, Secretary from 2012 to 2014, Vice President from 2014 to 2016 and now as President.

Carla TromansUCA Vice President

Dr Carla Tromans,
Director, International House, Queensland University

Carla Tromans has spent more than 30 years teaching and guiding students. As Director of International House, Carla brings a wealth of knowledge to assist UCA’s members improve the collegiate experience within their residential colleges. Carla received the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Internationalisation, University of Queensland in 2012 and is currently a member of the University’s Senate.

UCA Secretary

Mr Michael Bongers,
Principal, The John Flynn College, James Cook University

Michael commenced as Principal of The John Flynn College in January 2015. Before then he was Rector (Principal) of St John’s College within the University of Sydney and (earlier again) Deputy Principal of St Leo’s College within the University of Queensland.   His professional background is in education and his academic qualifications include Dip T., B.Ed., M.Ed.  He is currently enrolled in an Ed.D with a particular focus on the first year student experience in university residential environments.

Marie LeechUCA Treasurer

Dr Marie Leech,
Principal, Sancta Sophia College, University of Sydney

Marie’s experience is based on an accumulation of years successfully researching and developing social policies. Marie has worked extensively with government and social service bodies to improve conditions for education of disadvantaged Australians. As Head of Sancta Sophia College and UCA Treasurer, Marie brings this knowledge and expertise to help the UCA meet its objectives for its members. Marie has a PhD in Social Reform , University of Sydney and a Master of Science, University NSW. She was a finalist in the 2005 Telstra Business Women’s Awards.


UCA Committee Member

Mrs Barbara Green
Principal, St Hilda’s College, The University of Melbourne

Barbara Green has been Principal of St Hilda’s Colleges since 2000.  She has a long association with University Colleges Australia having been President from 2010 to 2012 and prior to that, Vice-President from 2008 to 2010.  Her corporate knowledge of the Association has proved invaluable to the Executive Committee.



UCA Committee Member

Mr David Segal
Head, Toad Hall, Australia National University

David joined the UCA Executive Committee in 2016 and prior to this he was also a local organising committee member for the Collegiate Way International Conference held in Canberra in November 2016.  David has a particular interest is in mental health education through early intervention in programs such as Mental Health First Aid and Suicide Prevention.  He is a Director of Mental Health Intervention Skills Training (MHIST) and was previously a Board Member of Mental Illness Education ACT (MIEACT).

Ian Walker

Immediate Past-President

Dr Ian Walker,
Toad Hall, Australian National University

With over 25 years working in various roles in education, Ian brings great insight to the Executive Committee. He is currently Head of Toad Hall, a residential college for 230 mainly postgraduate students from over 50 countries and is also a Visitor in the ANU School of History and an Honorary Research Fellow in the Faculty of Education and Social Work at Sydney University.

Ian is immediate past-president of UCA 2014-2016.  During his tenure he also convened the National UCA Conference incorporated with the second Collegiate Way International Conference and the UCA Forum in 2015.  Prior to this he convened the UCA Conference, Canberra 2012.


UCA Public Officer

Bruce Pollard
Master, Robert Menzies College, Macquarie University

Bruce Pollard has a background in accounting and most recently lectured at the Holmes Institute, before taking up his appointment at RMC in January 2012.

Deborah Pugh

UCA Executive Officer
Deborah Pugh, Melbourne

Deborah Pugh provides Executive Support services for the UCA and brings over 15 years of experience in universities and residential colleges to support the needs of the Association. Deborah holds a BA and a Graduate Diploma, Library & Information Studies from The University of Melbourne and a Graduate Diploma, Secretarial Studies (RMIT).

To contact a member of the committee click here.

Over the years some members have made a substantial contribution to the UCA and have advanced its work at the local level and on the national stage. In recognition of this, the Association has rewarded their efforts through the appointment of Life Members to the University Colleges Australia.