About Us
Executive Committee

Executive Committee

Our Executive Committee

UCA President

Mr Wayne Erickson, MBA GradDipLegStud DPE FIML MACE MAICD JP
Principal, St Andrew’s College within The University of Sydney

Wayne is the 12th Principal of St Andrew’s College, within the University of Sydney.  He was appointed in March 2008, having served the College as Secretary to the Council and Manager since 2004.   In a former life he was a teacher, housemaster, sports master and College Executive member at The Scots College, Sydney, during the 1980’s. He left teaching to pursue a long-held interest in the business of sport, and was the General Manager of Operations at Australian Rugby until 1995, when he became world rugby’s first full time professional referee. He is a member of Rugby Australia, SANZAAR and World Rugby’s referee selection committees, coaxing talent and aspiration towards excellence – much like his role in St Andrew’s, where he delights in the joys of working with our best and brightest emerging adults.

UCA Vice President

Ms Joanna Rosewell, BA (Hons), CTEFLA, Post.Grad.Appl.Ling. (TESOL), MJ, Cert. Fundraising
Principal, Jane Franklin Hall, The University of Tasmania

Joanna Rosewell is the Principal of Jane Franklin Hall, University of Tasmania. After a career teaching, managing and teacher training in the international student and adult learning sectors, she returned to study to complete a Masters in Journalism, Media and Communications with a focus on public relations. These studies led to her second career working in marketing, business development and communications with disability organisations. A former Jane resident herself, Joanna re-engaged with the College in 2012, co-organising a reunion for over 200 former Jane residents. From there, she was elected a member of the College Council, a role which morphed into her third career of Principal. Joanna absolutely loves her job, believing that Colleges are communities which genuinely support young adults at a critical – and often confusing – life stage.


UCA Secretary

Ms Rose Alwyn, BA, MBA, Grad. Member AICD
Warden, St John’s College within The University of Queensland

Rose Alwyn was appointed Warden of St John’s College in 2019 having previously been Master of St Mark’s College since 2008.  Before her career in college leadership, Rose was General Manager at the Service to Youth Council, one of Australia’s leading organisations responsible for delivering employment, training and social welfare initiatives to marginalised and disadvantaged young people. 

Rose has been involved in a number of public policy advisory committees in the education, employment and homelessness sectors.  She has also held Board directorships in the not-for-profit sector specialising in Strategy, Business Planning and Social Justice Initiatives.  Rose was President of UCA from 2016-2018.

UCA Treasurer

Mr Mark Sampson M.EdStudies, B.Ed, FAIM, MACEL, SFHEA
Principal, University Hall, University of Western Australia


Mark became Principal of University Hall in 2017 having taught for over 30 years in secondary education at schools across Australia including Canberra, Toowoomba and the Barossa Valley in roles including Subject Master of Physical Education, Head of Sport and Housemaster. Most recently moving to Perth in 2002 he worked in senior leadership roles including Deputy Head at Aquinas College and Head of Senior School at Wesley College.

UCA Committee Member

Adjunct Professor Bill Peirson, Ph.D
Master, New College, University of New South Wales

Bill is the Master & Chief Executive Officer of New College. His role involves the overall management of New College and New College Village. He is also the Director of The Centre for Christian Apologetics, Scholarship and Education (CASE), which is a Ministry of New College.  Bill was formerly the Director of UNSW’s Water Research Laboratory at the Manly Campus and he continues to supervise and conduct research.

Bill convened UCA’s 2019 Sydney Forum and, together with Dr Brenda Holt, Principal of St Hilda’s College, convenes the Melbourne Forum to be held from 20th to 22nd September, 2021.

Immediate Past-President

Mrs Barbara Green AM, BA (Hons), MEd

Barbara is well known to UCA having been a member since her appointment as Principal of St Hilda’s College, The University of Melbourne, in 2000 to her retirement in 2018.  Additionally, Barbara has been a member of the AHAUCHI/UCA Executive, as Vice-President in 2008-2010, President 2010-2012 and member of the Executive Committee until 2017.  She has also been a member of the International Advisory Committee for Collegiate Way International since its formation in 2014.  

Through her support of UCA members as an Executive Committee member and her leadership in the Melbourne Chapter, Barbara has promoted and represented the value of collegiate life.  In recognition of her service to UCA, Barbara was awarded as an Honorary Life Member of the Association in 2019.  In the Queen’s Birthday Australian Honours 2020, Barbara was awarded an AM (Member of the Order of Australia) for significant service to tertiary education, particularly to university colleges.

UCA Executive Officer
Alana Chambers

Alana provides Executive Support services for UCA and brings over 10 years of experience in communications and marketing, including 8 years in a residential college setting, to support the needs of the Association. Alana holds a BA / BCM (UOW) and a Masters of Media Practice (USyd).


To contact a member of the committee click here